Previous

News

And This Too Opens 6pm Thursday 2nd November 2017

Article text
Platform Arts, a hub for contemporary artists in Belfast, opened a major exhibition on War called And This Too today (Nov 2nd 2017. Running at the Platform Gallery, Queen Street, Belfast from November 2nd to 25th 2017, the exhibition features seven significant artists whose work explores, represents or challenges our understanding of modern conflict.

Artists Sean Campbell, Jill Gibbon, Brendan Jamison, Ciaran Magill, Mark Revels, Gail Ritchie and David Turner have each contributed very different works to the exhibition which includes drawing, painting, sculpture and installation.

Gail Ritchie, Artist said, “Much of work in the exhibition is being shown for the first time in Belfast. Given the prevalence of war reporting across all media and the state of heightened security we currently find ourselves in today’s world, this exhibition is a timely response to current events. And This Too includes drawing, painting, sculpture and installation and it highlights the important role which artists play in offering alternative viewpoints of conflict.”

The organisers have curated a programme of supporting events which will take place in the Platform gallery.
Friday 3rd November, 2pm-4pm
Panel discussion with Dr Des O’Rawe, School of Arts, English and Languages, Queen’s University Belfast , Dr Jill Gibbon, School of Art Architecture and Design, Leeds Beckett University and Fiona Ni Mhaoilir, artist / researcher ,University of Ulster, Belfast. Speakers will join a lively discussion with artists and audience members on how conflict is represented by Artists and what impact Art has on our understanding of war.

Saturday 11th November,
Artists Talk, an opportunity to chat informally to the artists about the development of their work and their individual approaches to the theme of war and conflict.

ENDS
For further press information, image and interview requests please contact:
Gail Ritchie . 07732 836 317 email : gailxritchie@hotmail.com, Twitter: @Ritchieart

Notes to Editors
Platform Arts, 1 Queen Street, Belfast , BT1 6EA
Platform Arts aims to actively promote the creation, presentation of and access to contemporary art practice. It is a high profile hub for contemporary art practice recognised nationally and internationally.
www.platformartsbelfast.com
Key Dates
Exhibition opens – Thursday 2nd November at 6.00pm
Panel Discussion – Friday 3rd November 2.00 – 4.00pm
Artist’s Talks – Saturday 11th November 2.00 – 3.00 pm
Exhibition Closes – Saturday 25th November
Information on the artists:
Each of the artists involved have exhibited widely locally and internationally. Full profiles are available on:
Sean Campbell https://www.seancampbell.co.uk/
Jill Gibbon http://www.jillgibbon.co.uk/
Brendan Jamison http://www.brendanjamison.com/
Ciaran Magill http://www.ciaranmagill.com/
Mark Revels http://www.markrevels.com/
Gail Ritchie http://www.gailritchie.com/
David Turner http://www.belfastarts.co.uk/home-page